Breakthrough

So far NaNo has been nothing but pure frustration.

That is until last night.

Last night I finally reached my minimum daily requirement (1,600 words).  I’m still way behind but I can catch up now.

The problem so far is that I screwed up the beginning. It doesn’t have a proper hook. And so I plowed on, chapter after chapter. But now the action is picking up, which is what the book needed. Yes I know, NaNo is a very rough draft, but I always pride myself in my beginnings.

One rule I always follow, killed someone in the first three pages, preferably by the end of the first page if possible. A bit crass, I know, but nothing raises the stakes like a well place body. I’ll do my best to win this year and leave the inner editor out of this.

Now, if you’ll excuse me I have to get back to NaNo.

    • bigwords88
    • November 11th, 2009

    Kill someone within three pages to bring people into the story, kill a character every other page to keep ’em reading. 😀

  1. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

